BIG! Raises Over $15,000 for Alzheimer’s Research

Can you image that I actually went on long trek up Mt. Gardner through forest and rain without my camera?

I can’t share with you the visuals of the day but what a successful morning it was. It rained but dozens of us climbed over rocks, up steep inclines, through puddles and muddy patches and made it to the top. Along the way there were pretty signs with purple ribbons that sounded so encouraging – at first. By the time I saw my third or fourth sign that said “you are almost there” or “this was the steepest part of the trail”, I was getting ready to find the signmaker and give her a piece of my mind. One bright point – the volunteer committee had made dozens of cookies that were available to all at the top. I lasted long enough to imagine the view (it was rather socked in with clouds) and then headed down as the chill started to sink into my bones. It was a great hike and I like the fact that the money was going to a very specific research project at UBC. Stan, Nicki’s dad, would be very proud of what she accomplished in being one of the key persons to pull this event off. Other hard working Board members included Barbara Wiltshire, Jen Hall, Tim Hausch, Nicola Murray (Nicki), Jeff Kellner, Karen Redmond, Lisa Holleman, and Carol Petersen

Not only did the BIG group http://bowenislandgives.com/ surpass their goal of $10,000 but they had a fabulous after-party at the Legion.

The Rolling Stallones, Grand National Ron VanDyke, Peter Robinson had the 150 people in that room working up a sweat, dancing up a storm and just adding to their energy levels (even after that grueling hike that I didn’t get a single photo of – did I mention that already?). It is a few days later and I can still feel the impact on my muscles – but they are happy feelings – glad to be used.

Below is a link to more images from the evening by Candice Albach.
http://candicealbach.com/bowengives/

And a link to the hike should you want to do it on a clear, sunny day http://www.trailpeak.com/trail-Mount-Gardner-Bowen-Island-near-Vancouver-BC-636 or http://www.vancouvertrails.com/trails/mount-gardner/